Reid Kerr College visit…

Posted on September 26, 2011

0


Every year for the last 5 years I’ve spent an afternoon with the students on the HNC Creative Industries:Radio Broadcasting course at Reid Kerr College, Paisley.

My first boss, John Collins is their lecturer and over the years he’s done a tremendous job building up the course and making it super relevant to today’s broadcasting industry. I’m one of more than a dozen speakers he regularly invites in.

I talk to the students about how I got started and the various jobs I’ve done throughout my career. And I answer as many of their questions as I possibly can. Students are a no nonsense bunch and demand honesty and straight talking. I like to think that’s what I give them and why I get invited back.

I hope that taken together, over the duration of their course, all of us “guest speakers” give them a full picture of the different twists and turns a career in this industry can take, and an idea of what you have to do to make the most of the opportunities.

What always strikes me, each time I visit, is the enthusiasm these young people have for the media and the interesting ideas they want to put into practice. They don’t see the rules and the baggage that sometimes jade those of us who’ve worked in the industry for a few years, but they have bags of vision and energy and sometimes quite innovative styles and different attitudes.

I always walk out at the end feeling excited about the future of the industry as these men and women break down the door and make their mark.

If you’re interested in having me speak to your students click here to contact me and I’d be happy to arrange something with you. And if you already work in the media and are fed up with talk of cuts, redudancies, arguments about distribution platforms and the rest, why not spend some time in the company of the next generation? You’ll find it very refreshing.

